Te Rarawa award education scholarships

16 outstanding Te Rarawa students received scholarships from the iwi at this year's awards ceremony held at Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Pukemiro.

Te Rarawa 2019 scholarship recipients from left:  Renee Murray, Nadine Houia-Ashwell, Faye Mendes-Underwood, Brooklyn Kaipo, Nichola Bell, Meremere Paitai, Cynthia Otene, Hotene Ngaropo-Tuia, Te Reinga Patu, Manaakitia Hoepo, Taimania Nepia-Hill, Maria Mclean

In selecting this year’s recipients, panel members decided to invest across a wide range of professional study areas. Recipients’ chosen fields included medicine, engineering, health, law, science, computing and the arts.

Te Rarawa scholarships funding panel hand picked the final recipients after a three month application process, including one-on-one interviews with shortlisted applicants. 

“We wanted to hear more about the applicants’ aspirations, what drives them, and where they see themselves investing professionally in the future,” Te Rarawa Scholarships panel member, Joanne Murray said. 

“We had such a high calibre of applicants, it was incredibly difficult to choose,” she said. 

The scholarships programme aims to develop skills relevant to the rohe that will benefit the iwi in future.  

“We’re always interested in supporting students whose area of study aligns with long term iwi plans. Particularly those who are committed to contributing to their marae, hapu or iwi, with intention to return to the rohe,”   

This year’s total scholarship award is the greatest amount distributed by Te Rarawa to date. The value of Te Rarawa scholarships has increased year on year, with 2019 awards up 38 percent since 2015 with more than $42,000 distributed. 

“It was particularly important for us this year to increase not only the amount, but also the number of awards distributed,” Joanne said.

Two students Te Aroha Pawa and Mana Wihongi received the prestigious Tarutaru Ruapounamu award, named after founding Te Rarawa tupuna. Cynthia Otene received the Dame Joan Metge award - funded using proceeds of royalties by the writer herself. 

Dame Joan Metge award recipient Cynthia Otene will use the scholarship to help complete her PHD in Health Science at Auckland University of Technology


Joanne Murray presents Taimania Nepia-Hill with her scholarship award