Te Rarawa 2020 Scholarships now open for applications

Applications for Te Rarawa Tertiary Scholarships are now open to people wishing to study in 2020.

There are four types of scholarship available to apply for:

  1. Tarutaru me Ruapounamu Memorial - $2,000 each year for up to three years of study
  2. Kotare Trust Scholarship awarded by Dame Joan Metge - $3,000
  3. Te Rarawa aligned Business or Primary Industries study - $3,000
  4. Te Rarawa aligned Social Science related study - $2,000

The Rūnanga is particularly interested in supporting students whose area of study and aspirations align with the direction of Te Rarawa in the post-settlement environment, and those who contribute or have plans to contribute in some way to their marae, hapū or iwi.

To qualify, applicants must whakapapa to Te Rarawa, be affiliated to a Te Rarawa marae and undertaking full-time study or trade training at any New Zealand tertiary institution. Download an application pack to see the full criteria.

For any scholarship inquiries please contact Anna-Lee Hill by phone (09) 408 0141 or email

Applications close 4pm, Thursday 31st October, 2019.