The Four Pou

Ngā Pou E Whā

The Four Pou Ngā Pou E Whā

Te Rūnanga o Te Rarawa maintains Ngā Pou E Whā, the Four Pou Principle, as the basis upon which all conduct undertaken by the Rūnanga and its subsidiaries can be aligned to and measured against.

The four pou are a contemporary representation of the traditional imperatives of Te Rarawa. They are a beacon that guides our tikanga and mahi.

 Pou tahi:   Te Oranga (Social)
 Pou rua:   Te Taiao (Environmental)
 Pou toru:   Te Rarawatanga (Cultural)
 Pou whā:   Te Ōhanga (Economic)

The four pou embody inclusivity, equity and balance. None of the pou can stand on their own, as they impact, influence, and connect with one another.

Individually, each pou represents a significant driver for success, but achievement of the overarching Rūnanga vision can only be attained when all pou are factored into the achievement of multiple, long-term outcomes.